Any foreign national who is not a citizen of Malaysia intending to enter and reside in Malaysia as a permanent resident may apply for an Entry Permit. The Malaysian Government issues the following types of visas to foreign nationals:

Single Entry Visa

The Single Entry Visa is issued to foreign nationals who require a visa to enter Malaysia mainly for a social visit. It is normally valid for a single entry and for a period of three (3) months from the date of issue.

Multiple Entry Visa

The Multiple Entry Visa is issued to foreign nationals who require a visa to enter Malaysia mainly for business or government-to-government matters. It is normally valid for a period within three (3) months to twelve (12) months from the date of issue. Citizens of India and the People's Republic of China who wish to enter Malaysia for the purpose of a Social Visit are eligible to apply for the Multiple Entry Visa. The validity of the Multiple Entry Visa is one (1) year. Each entry is for 30 days only and the extension of stay is not allowed.

Conditions for the Multiple Entry Visa are:

  1. The applicant must show proof of sufficient funds for staying in Malaysia
  2. The applicant must possess a valid and confirmed return ticket
  3. Tour groups are not eligible to apply for Multiple Entry Visa.

The visa fee may vary for all countries.

Countries that require Visa

Afghanistan (Visa with reference), Angola, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo Democratic Republic, Congo Republic, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Guinea-Bissau, Hong Kong (C/I or D/I), India, Liberia, Mali, Myanmar (ordinary passport), Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, Serbia & Montenegro, Taiwan(15 days without visa), United Nations (Laissez Passer) and Western Sahara

Commonwealth Countries that require Visa

Bangladesh, Cameroon, Ghana Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

Countries that do not require Visa for stay less than 14 Days

Iran (90 days), Iraq (30 days), Libya, Macao (Travel Permit/Portugal CI), Palestine (30 days), Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Yemen, Syria (30 days), Cote d'Ivoire / ivory coast

Countries that do not require Visa for stays less than 1 Month

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Barbados, Belarus, Benin, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Chad, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Gabon, Georgia, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea Republic, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong SAR, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macao SAR, Macedonia, Madagascar, Moldova, Mauritania, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Nicaragua, North Korea, North Yemen, Panama, Paraguay, Portugal, Russia, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Slovenia, Sudan, Surinam, Tajikistan, Togo, Ukraine, Upper Volta, Uzbekistan, Vatican City, Venezuela, Zaire,Zimbabwe

Countries that do not require Visa for stay less than 3 Months

Albania, Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria (Vienna), Bahrain, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Croatia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyz Republic, Lebanon, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Peru, Poland, Qatar, Romania, St Marino, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Yemen

How to apply

  1. Application in prescribed form must be submitted to the Immigration Department of Malaysia.

  2. Application must be made in Malaysia.

  3. Requires personalized cover letter.

  4. Upon submission of application, the applicant is required to be interviewed by the Immigration Department subject to Police Vetting.

  5. Recommendation by Relevant Agency in Malaysia must be submitted upon application.

Note: All the information regarding the visa has been collected from various sources so, please contact the Malaysian Embassy or Consulate in your country for most recent and accurate information.